We’re here to help! Are you pregnant, overwhelmed, and a Minnesota resident? Locate a Partnering Agency near you to apply for Cradle of Hope services.

Parenting Resources


Got questions or want to learn some parenting tips?            Check out the information / links below…

Pregnancy

Caring for Your Baby

Just for Dads

Complications and Loss

Children with Learning Disabilities

Children with Down Syndrome

Helpful Tips

More Resources


PREGNANCY:

pregnant-photo

Prenatal care – http://www.marchofdimes.org/pregnancy/prenatal-care.aspx

Labor and Birth – http://www.marchofdimes.org/pregnancy/labor-and-birth.aspx

Postpartum Care – http://www.marchofdimes.org/pregnancy/postpartum-care.aspx


CARING FOR YOUR BABY:

tummy-time-infographic

Breastfeeding Your Baby – http://www.marchofdimes.org/baby/how-to-breastfeed.aspx

Breastfeeding Help – http://www.marchofdimes.org/baby/breastfeeding-help.aspx

Checklist: Pathways’ Communication Checklist (0-3yrs) – Communication Checklists

Checklist: Pathways’ Developmental Checklist (0-6yrs) – 

Common Illnesses – http://www.marchofdimes.org/baby/common-illnesses.aspx

The Art of Communication – http://www.drgreene.com/qa-articles/fine-art-communication/

Managing Constipation and Spit-Up –http://www.drgreene.com/qa-articles/managing-constipation-spitup/
http://www.drgreene.com/qa-articles/infant-constipation/

Caring for your Baby – http://www.marchofdimes.org/baby/caring-for-your-baby.aspx

Developmental Screening – http://www.drgreene.com/perspectives/developmental-screening/

Early Intervention – http://www.drgreene.com/perspectives/the-benefits-of-early-intervention/

Formula Feeding Your Baby – http://www.marchofdimes.org/baby/formula-feeding.aspx

Games to Promote Development (0-3 mo’s) – https://pathways.org/growth-development/0-3-months/games/

Games to Promote Development (4-6 mo’s) – https://pathways.org/growth-development/4-6-months/games/

Games to Promote Development (7-9 mo’s) – https://pathways.org/growth-development/7-9-months/games/

Games to Promote Development (10-12 mo’s) – https://pathways.org/growth-development/10-12-months/games/

Medicine and Pregnancy – http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ByAudience/ForWomen/WomensHealthTopics/ucm117976.htm

Separation Anxiety and Object Permanence – http://www.drgreene.com/qa-articles/separation-anxiety-object-permanence/

The Most Important Gift You Can Give Your Child – http://www.drgreene.com/perspectives/44907/

Thrush in Infants – http://www.drgreene.com/qa-articles/infants-thrush/

Tips to Reduce Colic – http://www.drgreene.com/tips-reduce-colic/

Tummy Time – http://www.drgreene.com/qa-articles/tummy-time/
https://pathways.org/topics-of-development/tummy-time-2/

Umbilical Hernias – http://www.drgreene.com/qa-articles/umbilical-hernias/


JUST FOR DADS:

Father reading to baby on sofa

Breastfeeding: What Dad can Do – http://www.marchofdimes.org/baby/breastfeeding-what-dad-can-do.aspx
http://www.drgreene.com/breastfeeding-tips-dr-greene/

Dad: Once Your Baby is Home – http://www.marchofdimes.org/baby/dad-once-your-baby-is-home.aspx

New Dads – http://www.marchofdimes.org/baby/new-dads.aspx

NICU: A Father’s Role in the NICU – http://www.marchofdimes.org/complications/a-fathers-role-in-the-nicu.aspx

Parenting takes Practice – http://www.drgreene.com/perspectives/parenting-takes-practice/


COMPLICATIONS & LOSS:

hand-with-flower

Birth Defects & Other Health Conditions – http://www.marchofdimes.org/complications/birth-defects-and-health-conditions.aspx

Pregnancy Complications – http://www.marchofdimes.org/complications/pregnancy-complications.aspx

Dealing with Others as Your Grieve – http://www.marchofdimes.org/complications/dealing-with-others-as-you-grieve.aspx

Loss & Grief – http://www.marchofdimes.org/complications/loss-and-grief.aspx

NICU: The Newborn Intensive Care Unit – http://www.marchofdimes.org/complications/the-nicu.aspx

Preterm Labor & Premature Birth – http://www.marchofdimes.org/complications/preterm-labor-and-premature-baby.aspx

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome: A-Z Guide – http://www.drgreene.com/articles/sudden-infant-death-syndrome/

Zika Virus & Pregnancy – http://www.marchofdimes.org/complications/zika-virus-and-pregnancy.aspx


CHILDREN WITH LEARNING DISABILITIES:

  • When your child is diagnosed with a disability, it can be an overwhelming experience. Have questions but don’t know where to go for help?  Check out this extensive
  • Resource Directory
  • for parents who have a child with a learning disability.
  • (The following links are included in the directory.)

LD Online – While this site is geared more toward educators, it is useful for parents as well, giving you insight into the tools and strategies that your child’s teachers might be using.

National Association of Parents with Children in Special Education – This organization is a place where parents of children can find support and resources to ensure you are your child’s best advocate.

PACER Center – This program helps parents and children with learning disabilities to improve their quality of life and expand their opportunities. They have a wide range of programs available and are primarily staffed by parents of children with disabilities.

Possibilities: A Financial Resource for Parents of Children with Disabilities –  Even the most stable of families face financial challenges. Explore financial resources through this site.

Understood – For parents looking to better understand what their child is going through.


CHILDREN WITH DOWN SYNDROME:

Down Syndrome Association of MN – Parent Groups (statewide), Parent to Parent Connections, New Parent Breakfast.  651-603-0720

Down Syndrome Clinic at Children’s Hospital – A clinic that guides families through the details of caring for a child with Down syndrome.  612-813-7240; locations in Minneapolis and St. Paul

Gigi’s Playhouse – Provides a variety of free programs that are educational and therapeutic in nature. Serves individuals with Down syndrome from birth through adulthood. Many different programs for many different ages.  952-926-3660; 4740 Park Glen Road, St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Facebook Community – Search “Minnesota Moms with Children who Have Down Syndrome (5 and Under)” and click on the request to join. This is a supportive group of moms who offer personal advice and share their journeys of raising a child with Down syndrome.

DSDN: Down Syndrome Diagnosis Network – Connects, supports, and provides accurate information to families with a Down syndrome diagnosis. Great resource to find modern information on parenting a child with Down syndrome.  612-460-0765

National Down Syndrome Society – Human rights organization for individuals with Down syndrome. Also has extensive information about Down syndrome.  800-221-4602 (helpline)

 


HELPFUL TIPS:

helpful-tips

Tip #1 – Baby Proofing:  As your child becomes mobile and you begin baby proofing your home here’s a helpful tip.  Use the cardboard tube from a roll of toilet paper (which is similar to the size of a baby’s throat) to test toys.  If a toy can fit inside the tube make sure it is not accessible to your child because your child may choke on it if swallowed.

Tip #2 – The Impact of Children Using Handheld Devices:  Learn more about the effects of children using handheld devices by clicking HERE.  Be consistent and set limits that your family follows.  Balance these family rules with family time.

Technology Use Guideline for Children and Youth

2014-03-06-Screenshot20140306at3.29.09PM.png


MORE RESOURCES:

American Baby Magazine –Everything expectant and new parents need to know about pregnancy and parenting, including prenatal and family health, as well as baby’s growth and development. (The Thrills of Motherhood, 9 Totally Normal Reasons Babies Cry, 5 Ways to Soothe Yourself When Baby is Crying, Babyproofing your Home, 5 Binky Basics: What you Know about Pacifiers, and more). Go To:  http://www.parents.com/american-baby-magazine/

Childbirth Connection – www.childbirthconnection.org   Get ready for pregnancy. Make informed decisions throughout pregnancy. Understand your options for labor and birth. Find the resources you need at your fingertips.

DrGreene.com – www.drgreene.com  Named “The first and still the best pediatric web-site” by Yahoo! Internet Life magazine.

Fisher Price began making toys that “appeal” to the imagination, that do something new, surprising, and funny.  Even after introducing baby gear they’ve always kept the original vision of their founders in mind, and remember what started it all: a smile. Today their goals continue to be enriching the lives of young families and bringing joy to generations. Go To: www.fisher-price.com

March of Dimes – www.marchofdimes.org  Find out if you are at risk of a premature birth, and learn how to improve your chances of carrying your baby to full term.

March of Dimes Blog – www.newsmomsneed.marchofdimes.org   News Mom Needs (What Moms and Moms-to-be Need to Know).